

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT ARLINGTON



"An Elected Legislative and Deliberative Faculty Body

Whose Primary Purpose is to Represent UTA Faculty"

Date: 7-Sep-11

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Welcome New and Returning Senators and Ex-Officio Members (Name & Unit Please)
- 3. Remarks by the President
- 4. Remarks by Provost Don Bobbitt
- 5. Remarks by Provost Elect Ron Elsenbaumer
- 6. New minute taker: Ms. Carolynn Brown taking over from Ms. Judy Howard (Name & Unit Please)
- 7. Approval of minutes (may have to table)
- 8. Quorum Call voting members
- 9. Senate Officer Elections (delayed due to ice days... yes, ice days in Spring 2011) Past Senate Chair, John Priest, elections committee.
 - a. Faculty Senate Chair Elect (4 year: 1 chair elect, 2chair, 1-past chair)
 - **b.** Secretary
- 10. Remarks by Faculty Senate Chair, Tom Ingram
- 11. UT-System Faculty Advisory Council Report Past President of UT System FAC

- **12.** Formation of Committees
- 13. Old Business
- 14. New Business
- 15. Adjournment

Committee Listing on Back

IV. SENATE OFFICERS. A. The Faculty Senate Officers shall be: Chair Vice Chair Chair-Elect Secretary Parliamentarian Texas Council of Faculty Senates Representative

VII. FACULTY SENATE COMMITTEES A. Statutory Committees.

1. Executive Committee.

This committee is composed of the officers of the Faculty Senate. This committee shall be responsible for calling meetings, circularizing the faculty for agenda items and preparing the agenda for each meeting, conducting the meetings, and distributing the minutes to all voting members of the faculty.

2. The President's Advisory Committee.

The Chair, the Chair-Elect/Vice Chair, the Texas Council of Faculty Senates representative and five members of the Faculty Senate (one from each undergraduate college and one representing the School of Social Work, the School of Urban and Public Affairs, the College of Education, the School of Architecture, and the School of Nursing, collectively) shall act as a faculty advisory committee to the President and the Provost. The Committee shall meet with the President and Provost prior to each Senate meeting. The senators from each undergraduate college and those from the School of Social Work, the School of Urban and Public Affairs, the School of Education, the School of Architecture, and the School of Nursingshall elect annually from their number one member to the advisory committee at the first meeting of the Senate in the Spring semester.

3. Committee on Equity and Ethics

 The Committee on Equity & Ethics shall consist of five members, one from each undergraduate college and one representing the School of Social Work, the School of Urban and Public Affairs, the College of Education, the School of Architecture, and the School of Nursing, collectively.
The senators from each undergraduate college and those from the School of Social Work, the Institute of Urban Studies, the College of Education, the School of Architecture and Environmental Design, and the School of Nursing shall elect annually from their number one member to the Committee on Equity & Ethics at the first meeting of the Senate in the Fall semester.

3. The purpose of this committee is to hear any faculty member or associate of the faculty who feels that he or she has not been given equitable treatment in matters other than those pertaining to tenure, termination or nonrenewal of appointment of faculty, or academic freedom. 4. The individual seeking equity shall exhaust all administrative avenues up to and including the Provost before taking his or her case to the Committee on Equity. The results of the hearing before the Equity Committee shall be reported to the President for consideration and action. 5. This committee is also concerned with broad ethical policies. It recommends changes that need to be made to eliminate alleged violations

4. Committee on Tenure and Academic Freedom

1. This committee shall consist of five members, one from each undergraduate college and one representing the School of Social Work, the School of Urban and Public Affairs, the **College** of Education, the School of Architecture, and the School of Nursing, collectively.

2. The senators from each undergraduate college and those from the School of Social Work, the School of Urban and Public Affairs, the **College** of Education, the School of Architecture, and the School of Nursing shall elect annually from their number one member to this committee at the first meeting of the Senate in the **Spring** semester.

3. The committee shall advise the President on policy concerning faculty tenure, academic freedom, and responsibilities.

5. A Senator may serve concurrently on only one of the following: Presidential Advisory Committee, Committee on Equity, Committee on Tenure and Academic Freedom and Responsibilities.

B. Faculty Senate Standing Committees.

The following committees shall be appointed by the chair at the beginning of each academic year.

1. **Operating Procedures Committee**. The function of this

committee involves the internal operations of the Senate. It is concerned with the Handbook of Operating Procedures and acts as the administrative arm of the Senate.

2. Academic and Student Liaison Committee. This committee is concerned with broad policies and acts as a liaison between the Senate and the Graduate and Undergraduate Assemblies. This committee is also charged with problems relating to student life and student activities. The President of the Student Government shall also be an ex officio, non-voting member of this committee.

3. **Special Projects Committee**. The function of this committee is to handle any item that does not fit logically somewhere else. Its charge specifically includes the Professor Emeritus award selections, which are made directly to the President.

4. **Budget Liaison Committee**. This committee involves itself with any action concerning the budget and works with the President, the Provost, and the Vice President for Business Affairs.