

# **NO STRINGS ATTACHED**

transcriptions for winds

## SEPTEMBER 13, 2024 7:30 PM IRONS RECITAL HALL

March Militaire Francaise (1880)	Camille Saint-Saëns
transcribed by Merlin Patterson	(1835-1921)
Grace Before Sleep (2011)arranged by J. Eric Wilson	Susan LaBarr (b. 1981)
Passacaglia and Fugue in C Minor (1712)	J.S. Bach
transcribed by Douglas Stotter	(1685-1750)

## brief intermission

Variations on an Original Theme 'Enigma', Op.36 (1899) ......Edward Elgar transcribed by Merlin Patterson (1857-1934)

Theme & Variation I: C.A.E.

Variation II: H.D.S-P Variation III: R.B.T. Variation IV: W.M.B.

Variation V: R.P.A. ~~ Variation VI: Ysobel

Variation VII: Troyte

Variation VIII: W.N. ~~ Variation IX: Nimrod

Variation X: Dorabella (Intermezzo)

Variation XI: G.R.S.

Variation XII: B.G.N. ~~ Variation XIII: \*\*\* (Romanza)

Variation XIV: E.D.U. Finale

## **UTA WIND SYMPHONY**

Members are listed alphabetically in order to emphasize the importance of each performer's contribution

The UT Arlington Wind Symphony is the select wind and percussion ensemble at UT Arlington. The ensemble has performed at numerous conventions of the College Band Directors National Association, most recently in 2020 and 2016 and the Texas Music Educators Association, most recently in 2017 and 2012. In addition, the Wind Symphony has toured extensively throughout Texas, Mexico, and has performed in Carnegie Hall in New York City. Dr. Stotter and the UT Arlington Wind Symphony have released three compact discs, each available for sale at Naxos and iTunes: Ceremonial in 2012; Serenade, featuring classics of the wind chamber music repertoire, in 2015; and Celebration in 2017.

#### **FLUTE**

Jessica Baird Grace Nassar Olivia O'Brien\* Gerardo Rivera Elijah Taylor Kate Ullrich

#### **OBOE**

Matthew Howard\* Andreah Moreno

### **BASSOON**

Belinda Bubb Hayden Jobb Jacquelyn Martinez Flores Scott Pelland\*

#### **CLARINET**

Jason Aguilar
Ben Frazier
Kyle Lentz
T Lewis†
Axel Pacheco
Elizabeth Monzon
Adam Parham†
Jaden Raney†

### **BASS CLARINET**

Simran Kaur Camila Varjao\*

### **SAXOPHONE**

Pilar Garcia Alexis Palacio Megan Moore Ionathan Quinonas\*

## **TRUMPET**

Randy Dees\*
Zeshan Farooq
Iyaan Jaffer
Enrique Medina
Alexander Santiago
Nick Silva

#### **HORN**

Caden Bunch Trevor Costello\* Moises Garcia Berduo Victoria Trevino

### **TROMBONE**

Caleb Miller Rafael Najera Derrick Payton Ryan Tran\*

#### **BASS TROMBONE**

Hunter Luhman Colin Odum\*

### **EUPHONIUM**

Ronald Cade
David Diaz-Saladin\*

#### **TUBA**

Ethan Mathews\*
Ernesto Molina

#### **DOUBLE BASS**

Katie Cash\*

## **PERCUSSION**

Gabriel Estrada
Christian Jones
Ges Leon
Aaron Milam\*
Lorenzo Ozella
Adam Patterson
Leyla Stewart
Nicolas Veloz

\*denotes principal

† denotes co-principal

SCAN FOR ONLINE PROGRAM NOTES



OR GO TO uta.edu/bandnotes